Dec 072022
2013 Country Music Awards Winners
Awards by Year
  • Roll of Renown    • Top Awards   • Top Songs
  • About the Awards      • Other Country Links

41st CMAA
Country Music Awards Ceremony

2013 Golden Guitar Awards

Saturday, 26 Jan 2013
Tamworth Regional Entertainment
and Convention Centre (TRECC), NSW

The Country Music Awards of Australia are awarded annually to country music artists and individuals by the Country Music Association of Australia.

Troy Cassar-Daley was the big winner this year walking away with an impressive four Golden Guitar awards out of seven nominations. It was a good night for balladeer Graham Rodger winning Bush Ballad of the Year. He was a finalist 11 times before winning the Golden Guitar this year.

This year’s Golden Guitars hosted two special tributes saluting Australian pioneer country music artists. Geoff Mack was given a standing ovation when he was given the Lifetime Achievement Golden Guitar. The 90 year old Mack is a veteran of outback tent shows and the author

of the Aussie classic hit song I’ve Been Everywhere. It has been recorded by more than 130 artists including Johnny Cash and Lucky Starr. The second special tribute was to the late Jimmy Little who died in April 2012 at the age of 75. Jimmy’s career as a singer-songwriter and guitarist spanned six decades.

For some fans, going home after the Festival proved a difficult task. With a number of highways and main roads closed, many were stranded away from home by tropical Cyclone Oswald’s rain and flooding in Queensland and northern region of NSW.

The CMAA Awards is a highlight of the ten day Tamworth Country Music Festival. Each year about 50,000 music fans come to the Festival. The Awards is organized by the Country Music Association of Australia (CMAA).

41st Golden Guitar Finalists ~ WINNERS ARE BOLDED

Album of the Year  Always Never Enough – Catherine Britt
  Country Proud – McAlister Kemp
  Home – Troy Cassar-Daley
  Two Worlds Collide – The McClymonts
  Wreck & Ruin – Kasey Chambers and Shane Nicholson
Female Artist of the Year
  Amber Lawrence – The Man Across The Street
  Catherine Britt – Charlestown Road
  Harmony James – Emmylou’s Guitar
  Tamara Stewart – Sisterhood (Of Feeling Good)
  Lyn Bowtell – Beautiful Liar
Male Artist of the Year
  Adam Brand – There Will Be Love
  John Williamson – Prairie Hotel Parachilna
Luke O’Shea – The Drovers Wife
Troy Cassar-Daley – Home
  Travis Collins – Fired Today
New Talent of the Year
 Bob Corbett – Blown Away
  Chelsea Basham – Laugh It Off
  Chris E Thomas – Stone Cold
  Harry Hookey – Audrey’s Song
  Kristy Cox – Miles & Timezones
Group or Duo of the Year
  Camille and Stuie – Things Change
  Kasey Chambers & Shane Nicholson – Adam & Eve
  McAlister Kemp – Country Proud
  The Harmonators – Perfect Storm
  The McClymonts – Piece Of Me
APRA Song of the Year
  Adam & Eve – written & recorded by Kasey Chambers &
  Shane Nicholson
  Charlestown Road – written & recorded by Catherine Britt
  Emmylou’s Guitar – written & recorded by Harmony James
  Home – written & recorded by Troy Cassar-Daley
  Women In Song – Written by Tamara Stewart and Colin
  Buchanan. Recorded by Tamara Stewart, Sara Storer and
  Felicity Urquhart
Video Clip of the Year
  Adam & Eve – Kasey Chambers and Shane Nicholson,
  directed by Duncan Toombs
  Country Is – Troy Cassar-Daley, directed by Duncan Toombs
  Charlestown Road – Catherine Britt, directed by Jefferton James
  Piece Of Me – The McClymonts, directed by Duncan Toombs
  The Big Red – John Williamson, directed by Mark Jago
Single of the Year
  Adam & Eve – Kasey Chambers & Shane Nicholson
  Always Never Enough – Catherine Britt
  Country Is – Troy Cassar-Daley
  Piece Of Me – The McClymonts
  Waitress – Beccy Cole
Vocal Collaboration of the Year
  New England Sky – Luke O’Shea & Dianna Corcoran
  Reach For You – Harmony James & Shane Nicholson
  Song Of Australia – Colin Buchanan, Lee Kernaghan & Sara Storer
  Women In Song – Tamara Stewart, Sara Storer, Felicity Urquhart
  Troubled Man – Catherine Britt & Tim Rogers
Bush Ballad of the Year
 Heartbeat of Australia the Man of the Land – written by Dean Perrett & Stuart French,
  recorded by Dean Perrett
  Looking Back – written & recorded by Graham Rodger
  Mystery Of Saddle Girl – written & recorded by Rex Dallas
  Old Tobacco Tin – written & recorded by Peter Simpson & Dianne Lindsay
  The Ballad of Castlereagh – written by Vaughan Baker, recorded by Bec Hance
Instrumental of the Year
  Frankenbeanz – Bob Corbett & The Roo Grass Band
  One Christmas Night – Tommy Emmanuel
  The Warrumbungle Mare – Lawrie Minson & Lindsay Waddington
  Yackandandah 1852 – Pete Denahy
  Transpacific – Davidson Brothers
Heritage Song of the Year
  Charlestown Road – written & recorded by Catherine Britt
  Marree Girl – written & recorded by John Williamson
  The Drovers Wife – written by Luke O’Shea & Peter Gabrielides, recorded by
Luke O’Shea

Song Of Australia – written by Colin Buchanan & Garth Porter, recorded by Colin Buchanan, Sara Storer and Lee Kernaghan
  Tall Dark Ringer – written by Troy Cassar-Daley & Colin Buchanan, recorded by Troy Cassar- Daley
Alternative Country Album of the Year
  Lucky Country – Bob Corbett & The Roo Grass Band, produced by Robbie Long and Bob Corbett
  Big Days & Little Years – Camille and Stuie, produced by Stuie French
  Miles & Timezones – Kristy Cox, produced by Jerry Salley
  Secret Songs – Lyn Bowtell, produced by Sean Rudd
  Travis Collins – produced by Travis Collins & Michael McGlynn
Top Selling International Album of the Year
 Emotional Traffic – Tim McGraw (Sony)
  Blown Away – Carrie Underwood (Sony)
  Home – Dierks Bentley (EMI)
  Uncaged – Zac Brown Band (Warner)
  Thirty Miles West – Alan Jackson (Sony)
Sanity Top Selling Australian Album of the Year
  Home – Troy Cassar Daley (Liberation)
  Songs & Pictures – Beccy Cole (Core Music)
  The Big Red – John Williamson (Warner)
  Two Worlds Collide – The McClymonts (Universal)
  There Will Be Love – Adam Brand (Sony)

2013 Tamworth Country Music Festival

The Festival ran from 18 to 27 January 2013. It’s the largest music festival in the southern hemisphere and one of the top 10 in the world.

There were over 2,200 events and around 4,000 different performances in the 80 venues that make up the Tamworth Country Music Festival.

The Cavalcade community parade on Saturday 26 January attracted thousands of spectators again this year.

Cavalcade parade started at 9am at the corner of Peel & Hill Streets. The theme this year was Australia Day.

The public was invited to come join the fun and see their favourite country music artists on specially decorated floats.

  • The trophy is 24cm high and weighs 1.5 kilograms.
  • Over 500 Golden Guitar Awards have been given out since the beginning.
  • Slim Dusty won an amazing 37 Golden Guitar Awards during his career.

Write a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *