Jan 222023
1998 Commonwealth Games – Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Opening Ceremony … 11 Sep 1998Host City … Kuala Lumpur, MalaysiaClosing Ceremony … 21 Sep 1998
Participants … 3,638 athletes, 70 Commonwealth Nations
1998 Games   1998 Medals …gold-medalGoldThis image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is medal-s-sm-2.gifSilverBronzeGames Main Page

The 1998 Commonwealth Games were held in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia. The bid was Malaysia’s successful attempt to stage their second Commonwealth Games

THE 1998 COMMONWEALTH GAMES WAS hosted for the first time by an Asian country. A record 70 nations participated and the host nation, Malaysia achieved 10 gold medals, a record for them.

The Games was officially opened by His Majesty the King of Malaysia in the newly built 100,000 capacity National Stadium Bukit Jalil. Closing of the Games was declared by Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II ten days later. Entertainment that night included songs by international stars Rod Stewart and Celine Dion.

Yellow was used in a Games logo for the first time. All previous logos used only red, white and blue (the colours of the British Union Jack). The design was inspired by the Hibiscus, Malaysia’s national flower.

The official and popular mascot for the games was Wira, which means warrior in the Malay language. Wira projects the traditionally warm and friendly nature of the people, nation and land.

For the first time at any Games, team sport were allowed. Four team sports were added to the Games: cricket, netball, field hockey, and rugby sevens. The other 11 events were: athletics, badminton, boxing, cycling, gymnastics, lawn bowls, shooting, squash, swimming, ten-pin bowling and weightlifting.

Top 16 Countries By Total Medals

Host country listed in bold.

Countrygold-medalThis image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is medal-s-sm-2.gifTotal
5South Africa9111434
6New Zealand862034
Countrygold-medalThis image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is medal-s-sm-2.gifTotal
13Northern Ireland2125

Participating Teams

Countries attending the games were: Anguilla, Antigua, Australia, Bahamas, Bangladesh, Barbados, Belize, Bermuda, Botswana, British Virgin Islands, Brunei, Cameroon, Canada, Cayman Islands, Cook Islands, Cyprus, Dominica, England, Falkland Islands, Fiji, Gambia, Ghana, Gibraltar, Grenada, Guernsey, Guyana, India, Isle of Man Jamaica, Jersey, Kenya, Kiribati, Lesotho, Malawi, Malaysia, Maldives, Malta, Mauritius, Montserrat, Mozambique, Namibia, Nauru, New Zealand, Norfolk Island, Northern Ireland, Pakistan, Papua New Guinea, Samoa, Scotland, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Singapore, Solomon Islands, Republic of South Africa, Sri Lanka, St Helena, St Kitts & Nevis, St Lucia, St Vincent & The Grenadines, Swaziland, Tanzania, Tonga, Trinidad & Tobago, Turks & Caicos Islands, Tuvalu, Uganda, Vanuatu, Wales, Zambia, Zimbabwe.

Write a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *