Dec 102022
Australian of the Year Award 1991 – 2016

AUSTRALIAN OF THE YEAR Award recognises people who inspire us through their achievements to be better, do better. They have become role models in our communities challenging us to contribute in our own way to making Australia and the world a better place.

Every year the national Australian of the Year Awards are awarded on Australia Day. The Australian of the Year Awards started in 1960 and is a program of the National Australia Day Council.

Present to 1991 … 1990 to 1976 … 1975 to 1960

NameBornDiedA little bit about them . . .
2016David Morrison1956 Australian Chief of Army, stated priorities of republic, domestic violence, gender equality.
2015Rosie Batty1962 Australian family violence campaigner, her selfless efforts put domestic violence on the national agenda
2014Adam Goodes1980 AFL player and community leader, winner of two Brownlow Medals, an active role model for indigenous youth
2013Ita Buttrose1942 Australian journalist and businesswoman, founding editor of Cleo, President of Alzheimer’s Australia
2012Geoffrey Rush1951 Australian actor and producer, won an Oscar for the film Shine, recognized for his contribution to the arts
2011Simon McKeon1955 Social entrepreneur, philanthropist businessman, shows how business and philanthropy can be partners
2010Patrick McGorry1953 Professor, mental health expert, educating and advocating for youth mental health reform world wide.
2009Michael Dodson1950 Professor, Aboriginal leader, advocate for reconciliation, first Indigenous Australian to receive a law degree
2008Lee Kernaghan1964 Country music singer, supports rural & regional Australia helping raise over a million dollars for drought relief
2007Tim Flannery1956 Professor, scientist, author of The Weather Makers, a study of human induced climate change
2006Ian Frazer1953 Professor, immunologist, with his team created 4 vaccines for the prevention & treatment of cervical cancer
2005Fiona Wood1958 Plastic surgeon, spray-on skin pioneer, worked with burn victims of the 2002 Bali bombings
2004Steve Waugh1965 Champion test cricket captain, philanthropic work with victims of leprosy in India
2003Fiona Stanley1946 Professor, epidemiologist & child health expert, stresses value of research to improve Aboriginal and children’s lives
2002Patrick Rafter1972 Champion tennis player, strong belief in fair play, won ATP Sportsmanship Award 5 times, donated half prize money from US Open to Starlight Children’s Foundation
2001Peter Cosgrove1947 General, awarded Military Cross 1971, commander of International Force East Timor, Chief of Australian Army
2000Gustav Nossal1931 Biologist, President of Australian Academy of Science (1994-98), tireless campaigner for scientific research
1999Mark Taylor1964 Australian test cricket captain, regarded as an innovative and effective leader
1998Cathy Freeman1973 World champion athlete, gold medal 1994 Commonwealth Games, silver medal 1996 Olympic Games; lit Olympic Flame at Opening Ceremony 2000 Sydney
1997Peter Doherty1940 Professor, immunologist; awarded 1996 Nobel Prize in Medicine for groundbreaking research
1996John Yu1934 Paediatrician and hospital administrator, driving force in improvements to Royal Alexandra Hospital for Children
1995Arthur Boyd1920-1999Leading Australian artist, named Australian of Year for his extraordinary contribution to Australian art and his great generosity to the Australian nation
1994Ian Kiernan1940 Global environmentalist; founder of Clean Up Australia and Clean Up the World
1993No award made  the award dating system changed
1992Mandawuy Yunupingu1956 Aboriginal educator, singer, founded band Yothu Yindi, first Indigenous Australian to be appointed a school principal, named Australian of the Year for building bridges of understanding between Aboriginal and non-Aboriginal people. His brother Galarrwuy, received the Award in 1978
1991Peter Hollingworth1935 Archbishop, social justice advocate, Governor-General of Australia (2001–2003), Anglican Archbishop of Brisbane

More Information

Write a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *