sharing information


Public Holidays in Tasmania

Dates of public holidays change each year and vary by state. Some dates more than 12 months in advance may not yet be officially approved. While we believe the following to be correct, please check locally for the latest information.


— 2014 —  
Statewide Public Holidays
Wed 01 Jan New Year's Day Tues 22 Apr Easter Tuesday (see notes)
Mon 27 Jan** Australia Day Fri 25 Apr ANZAC Day
Mon 10 Mar Eight Hours Day Mon 09 Jun Queen's Birthday
Fri 18 Apr Good Friday Thur 25 Dec Christmas Day
Mon 21 Apr Easter Monday Fri 26 Dec Boxing Day
Local Public Holidays (see details at bottom of page)
Wed 08 Jan Devonport Cup Thurs 09 Oct Royal Launceston Show
Mon 10 Feb Royal Hobart Regatta Fri 17 Oct Flinders Island Show
Wed 26 Feb Launceston Cup Thurs 23 Oct Royal Hobart Show
Tues 04 Mar King Island Show Mon 03 Nov Recreation Day (N. TAS only)
Fri 02 May AGFEST (Circular Head only) Fri 28 Nov Devonport Show
Fri 03 Oct Burnie Show

    * Additional day.   ** Substitute day  

Yes, we know Christmas is on the 25th of December. When it falls on a Sunday,
in Tasmania the Christmas Day Holiday moves to the day after Boxing Day.

Areas Affected By These Tasmanian Statutory Holidays

Christmas Statewide Good Friday Statewide Queen's Birthday Statewide
Boxing Day Statewide Easter Monday Statewide ANZAC Day Statewide
New Year's Day Statewide Australia Day Statewide Eight Hours Day Statewide
Easter Tuesday Restricted public holiday currently observed by certain awards/agreements and the State Public Service. To check ring Fair Work Infoline on 131394
Devonport Cup From 11am for the Municipal area of Devonport (generally Public Service only)
Royal Hobart
All parts of Tasmania south of And including Oatlands and Swansea excluding Bronte Park Catagunya, Strathgordon, Tarraleah, Wayatinah and the West Coast
Launceston Cup All day - Municipal areas of Break O’Day, Dorset, George Town, Glamorgan-Spring Bay (north of and including Cranbrook), Launceston excluding Launceston City centre and suburbs specified in Item 2 of Part 2, Meander Valley excluding suburbs and townships specified in Item 2 of Part 2, Northern Midlands, Southern Midlands North of but not including Oatlands, West Tamar excluding townships specified in Item 2 Part 2.

From 11am
- Launceston City centre and the following suburbs and townships: Alanvale, Blackstone Heights, East Launceston, Elphin, Franklin Village, Glen Dhu, Inveresk, Invermay, Killafaddy, Kings Meadows, Mayfield, Mowbray, Mowbray Heights, Newnham, Newstead,North Riverside, Norwood,Prospect, Prospect Vale, Punchbowl, Ravenswood, Riverside, Rocherlea, St Leonards, Sandhill, South Launceston, Summerhill, Trevallyn, Vermont, Waverley, West Launceston, West Riverside, Youngtown
King Island Show Municipal area of King Island
AGFEST Municipal area of Circular Head
Burnie Show Municipal areas of Burnie, Waratah-Wynyard and West Coast
Royal Launceston
Municipal areas of Break O’ Day, Dorset, George Town, Launceston, Meander Valley, Northern Midlands and West Tamar
Flinders Island Show Municipal area of Flinders Island
Royal Hobart
All that part of Tasmania south of an including Oatlands and Swansea, also Bronte Park, Strathgordon, Tarraleah and Wayatinah, excluding the West Coast
Recreation Day All parts of Tasmania in which a statutory holiday is not observed for the Royal Hobart Regatta (Northern Tasmania only)
Devonport Show Municipal areas of Devonport, Kentish and Latrobe
We're SafeSurf Rated

Australian Facts & Information – Time & Dates, School, Sports, Converters, Facts & more
Australian Website Links – Entertainment, Sports, Education, Medical, Government & more

Know Australia   •   Voice of Australians   •   Uniquely Australian   •   Tall Poppy   •   Australian Cards   •   Flashback   •   Games   •   Home

Contact Us    Website designed & managed by Lady Luck Enterprises