making our life special

2014 Country Music Awards Winners

42nd CMAA
Country Music Awards Ceremony

2014 Golden Guitar Awards

Saturday, 25 January 2014
Tamworth Regional Entertainment
and Convention Centre (TRECC), NSW

Lee Kernaghan was the big winner this year walking away with an impressive four Golden Guitar awards including Male Artist of the Year. He now has 31Golden Guitars coming in second to Slim Dusty's 37.

Sara Storer walked away with 3 Golden Guitars to the delight of the audience. It was a great comback with Female Artist of the Year. It was a remarkable return after a six-year hiatus from writing after having children.

Norm Bodkin & Les Partell were inducted for 2014 to the Australasian Country Music Roll of Renown. The Lifetime Achievement Award was presented by John Williamson to Hall of Fame 1995 inductee Ted Egan.


The CMAA Awards is a highlight of the ten day Tamworth Country Music Festival. Each year about 50,000 music fans come to the Festival. The Awards is organized by the Country Music Association of Australia (CMAA).

NSW Premier Barry O'Farrell presented the New Talent of the Year award to Tamworth local Ashleigh Dallas. She is the granddaughter of Golden Guitar legend Rex Dallas.

Sister trio The McClymonts hosted the awards with performances by the Wolfe Brothers, Kaylens Rain, Kaylee Bell, The Adam Eckersley Band, and Golden Guitar winners Dallas and Storer.

2014 Tamworth
Country Music Festival

The Festival ran from 17 to 26 January 2014. It's the largest music festival in the southern hemisphere and one of the top 10 in the world.

There were over 2,200 events and over 800 artists in the 120 venues that make up the Tamworth Country Music Festival.

The Cavalcade community parade on Saturday 25 January attracted thousands of spectators again this year. Cavalcade parade started at 9am at the corner of Peel & Hill Streets. The public was invited to come join the fun and see their favourite country music artists on specially decorated floats.

Golden Guitar Award

The trophy is 24cm high and weighs 1.5 kilograms. Over 500 Golden Guitar Awards have been given out since the beginning. Slim Dusty won an amazing 37 Golden Guitar Awards during his career.

42nd Golden Guitar Finalists

Lifetime Achievement Award
Ted Egan

Male Artist of the Year
Lee Kernaghan – Flying With The King

Female Artist of the Year
Sara Storer – Lovegrass

Group or Duo of the Year
O’Shea – Thank You Angels

Vocal Collaboration of the Year
Pozie – Sara Storer & John Williamson

Single of the Year
Flying With The King – Lee Kernaghan

Bush Ballad of the Year
I Love Australia – written by K Jamieson, recorded by Jeff Brown

Album of the Year
Lovegrass – Sara Storer, produced by Matt Fell

Alternative Country Album of the Year
Black Coffee – Lachlan Bryan and The Wildes, produced by Lachlan Bryan, Mat Duniam, Shaun Ryan and Rod McCormack

Toyota Heritage Song of the Year
Lady of the Land – written by Luke O’Shea & Drew McAlister, recorded by Luke O’Shea

Instrumental of the Year
Cotton Eyed Joe – Pete Denahy

Qantaslink New Talent of the Year
Ashleigh Dallas – Me

APRA Song of the Year
Lady of the Land – written by Luke O’Shea & Drew McAlister, recorded by Luke O’Shea

CMC Video Clip of the Year
Flying With The King – Lee Kernaghan, directed by Duncan Toombs

Top Selling International Album of the Year
Red – Taylor Swift (Universal Music)

Sanity Top Selling Australian Album of the Year
Beautiful Noise – Lee Kernaghan (ABC Music)


We're SafeSurf Rated

Australian SlangOver 100 Australian SongsAustralian Food & RecipesAussie Style
Australian Events (Aria, Logie & Country Music Awards, Melbourne Cup, Bathurst 1000 & more)

Know Australia   •   Voice of Australians   •   Uniquely Australian   •   Tall Poppy   •   Australian Cards   •   Flashback   •   Games   •   Home

Contact Us    Website designed & managed by Lady Luck Enterprises