making our life special

1997 Country Music Awards Winners

25th CMAA
Country Music Awards Ceremony

1997 Golden Guitar Awards

Saturday, 25 Jan 1997
Don Willis Arena, Showground, NSW

Toyota was the sponsor this year. "Golden Guitar" trophies were given to winners. Highlight of the Tamworth Country Music Festival, the Awards was organised by Country Music Association of Australia (CMAA).


In 1993 the name changed from the Australasian Country Music Awards to its present name Country Music Awards of Australia.

 Golden Guitar Award

Album of the Year
Tania Kernaghan
December Moon

APRA Song of the Year
Graeme Connors
The Road Less Travelled
(ABC: Panama Music/Rondor)

Top Selling
Lee Kernaghan
(ABC: Warner/Chappell)

Bush Ballad of the Year
Slim Dusty
Must've Been A Hell Of A Party
Written by Slim Dusty & Tom Oliver
(EMI: Kirkpatrick/Oliver)

Heritage Song of the Year
Slim Dusty
Old Time Country Halls
(EMI: Slim Dusty Enterprises)

Instrumental of the Year
Lawrie Minson
Action Jackson

Video Track of the Year
Mark O'Shea
The Dreamer
Directed by Ross Wood
(ABC: Warner/Chappell)

Male Vocalist of the Year
Graeme Connors
The Road Less Travelled
(ABC: Panama Music/Rondor)

Female Vocalist of the Year
Tania Kernaghan
Where The Murray Meets The
(ABC: Warner/Chappell)

New Talent of the Year
Tina Martyn
Lying In My Bed
(ABC: Warner/Chappell)

Vocal Group or Duo of the Year
The Wheel
Saw You Runnin'
(rooArt: Colgems/EMI Music Ascap)

Vocal Collaboration of the Year
Tania Kernaghan & Lee Kernaghan
A Bushman Can't Survive
(ABC: Emusic)

Producer of the Year
Garth Porter
Roll of Renown
John Williamson



We're SafeSurf Rated

Australian Slang Over 100 Australian Songs Australian Food & Recipes Aussie Style
Australian Events (Aria, Logie & Country Music Awards, Melbourne Cup, Bathurst 1000 & more)

Know Australia     Voice of Australians     Uniquely Australian     Tall Poppy     Australian Cards     Flashback     Games     Home

Contact Us    Website designed & managed by Lady Luck Enterprises