making our life special

1978 Country Music Awards Winners

6th CMAA
Country Music Awards Ceremony

1978 Golden Guitar Awards

Sunday, 29 Jan 1978 – Tamworth Town Hall, NSW

Sponsored by Palings this year. It was originally called the Australasian Country Music Awards until 1993. "Golden Guitar" trophies were given to the winners. The Awards was a highlight of the Tamworth Country Music Festival.


 Golden Guitar Award

Album of the Year
The Hawking Bros
Country Travellin'

APRA Song of the Year
Joy McKean
Indian Pacific
Recorded by Slim Dusty

Top Selling
Slim Dusty
Indian Pacific

Instrumental of the Year
Norm Bodkin
Fender Bender

Roll of Renown
Smoky Dawson

Country Music Capital Award
John Minson

Male Vocalist of the Year
Reg Lindsay
Silence On The Line

Female Vocalist of the Year
Suzanne Prentice
How Great Thou Art
(Music World)

New Talent of the Year
Mike Fox
If Nobody Loves Me

Vocal Group or Duo of the Year
Hawking Brothers
Silver Wings



We're SafeSurf Rated

Australian Slang Over 100 Australian Songs Australian Food & Recipes Aussie Style
Australian Events (Aria, Logie & Country Music Awards, Melbourne Cup, Bathurst 1000 & more)

Know Australia     Voice of Australians     Uniquely Australian     Tall Poppy     Australian Cards     Flashback     Games     Home

Contact Us    Website designed & managed by Lady Luck Enterprises