sharing information


Archibald Prize Winners

Regarded as the most important portraiture prize in Australia, The Archibald Prize has been awarded every year since 1921. It is named after J. F. Archibald, former editor of The Bulletin. Archibald died in 1919 and bequest money for the award. It is administered by the trustees of the Art Gallery of New South Wales.

The first Archibald Prize was awarded in 1921 for 400. In 1956 it was $1,364. By 2011 the prize had grown to $75,000. Note: the portrait on the right is the 1924 Archibald Prize Winner.

Archibald Prize Winners >>    Present to 1991     1990 to 1951     1950 to 1921 in Australia
People's Choice Award      Packing Room Prize

Year Artist Painting Title
1990 Geoffrey Proud Dorothy Hewett
1989 Bryan Westwood Portrait of Elwyn Lynn
1988 Fred Cress John Beard
1987 William Robinson Equestrian Self Portrait
1986 Davida Allen Dr John Arthur McKelvie Shera
1985 Guy Warren Flugelman with Wingman
1984 Keith Looby Max Gillies
1983 Nigel Thomson Chandler Coventry
1982 Eric Smith Peter Sculthorpe
1981 Eric Smith Rudy Komon
1979 Wesley Walters Portrait of Phillip Adams
1978 Brett Whiteley Art, Life and the other thing
1977 Kevin Connor Robert Klippel
1976 Brett Whiteley Self Portrait in the Studio
1975 Kevin Connor The Hon Sir Frank Kitto, K.B.E.
1974 Samuel Fullbrook Jockey Norman Stephens
1973 Janet Dawson Michael Boddy
1972 Clifton Pugh The Hon E.G. Whitlam
1971 Clifton Pugh Sir John McEwan
1970 Eric Smith Gruzman - Architect
1969 Ray Crooke George Johnston
1968 William Pidgeon Lloyd Rees
1967 Judy Cassab Margo Lewers
1966 Jon Molvig Charles Blackman
1965 Clifton Pugh R. A. Henderson, Esq.
1963 Jack Carington Smith Professor James McAuley
1962 Louis Kahan Patrick White
1961 Pidgeon, William Rabbi Dr I. Porush
1960 Judy Cassab Stanislaus Rapotec
1959 William Dobell Dr Edward MacMahon
1958 William Pidgeon Mr Ray Walker
1957 Ivor Hele Self Portrait
1956 William Dargie Mr. Albert Namatjira
1955 Ivor Hele Robert Campbell
1954 Ivor Hele Rt. Hon. R. G. Menzies, P.C., C.H., Q.C., M.P.
1953 Ivor Hele Sir Henry Simpson Newland, CBE, DSO, MS, FRCS
1952 William Dargie Mr Essington Lewis, CH
1951 Ivor Hele Laurie Thomas
We're SafeSurf Rated

Australian Facts & Information Time & Dates, School, Sports, Converters, Facts & more
Australian Website Links Entertainment, Sports, Education, Medical, Government & more

Know Australia     Voice of Australians     Uniquely Australian     Tall Poppy     Australian Cards     Flashback     Games     Home

Contact Us    Website designed & managed by Lady Luck Enterprises